The European Water Polo Championships Barcelona 2018 have come to an end. The LEN flag has ben handed over to Hungarian authorities, who are responsible for hosting the next edition of the competition, which will be in the winter of the next Olympic year, 2020. As a reminder of the 15 matchdays lived at the Bernat Picornell Pool here is a time lapse that in a few seconds portrays the passion that
Serbia have been crowned European champions in the men’s categoryafter defeating Spain 12-10 in penalty shootouts at the Picornell Pool in what was the last match of the European Water Polo Championships Barcelona 2018. The Serbian team, which was regarded as favorite to win the crown, has honored their label by conquering their fourth European title in a row. Hungary are the only nation to have
Croatia and Italy put on a show at the Picornell Pool tonight in the match for the third place as the Croatian side won the bronze medal. The current world champions had to be at their best in tonight’s match, especially during the second quarter when the “Settebello” were attempting to get back into the game, as they claimed their fourth medal at the European Championships. Croatia’s previous
Although Serbia’s superiority over Spain seems undeniable for most water polo enthusiasts, statistics tell a different story, at least those from the past two weeks at the Picornell. Both teams have played a similar tournament, with almost identical figures. Serbia, however, has claimed five victories in five matches – the only team which has been able to accomplish such an outstanding feat –
Choosing only two players to follow from Spain and Serbia in the final match of the men’s competition has proved to be a tough challenge, especially when both squads are packed with some of the finest stars in the world of water polo. Spain has some incredible players such as Felipe Perrone, but it is their goalkeeper, Dani López Pinedo, who has emerged as the indisputable leader of the team at
A Slovenian referee and a Romanian referee will be in charge of the last match of the Barcelona 2018 European Water Polo Championships, which will be played by the men's teams of Serbia and Spain. The chosen ones are Boris Margeta and Adrian Alexandrescu, two of the most renowned referees of the Ligue Europeen de Natation (LEN). Both have had outstanding performances throughout the competition at
Serbia and Spain have basically no precedents in finals of major international water polo competitions. In fact, there is only one match somewhat similar to this one, which was the final of the European Championships of 1991 in Athens, when Spain faced Yugoslavia, the nation which was made up of several countries including Serbia until its disintegration in 1992. Yugoslavia defeated the Iberian
After two consecutive finals without being able to taste glory, the women’s team from the Netherlands was crowned as the new champion of the European Water Polo Championships after defeating Greece in a spectacular match that finished (6-4) in their favor. The team coached by Arno Havenga, who had already defeated the Greek side in the group stage of the competition (by one goal back then) have
The Spanish attacker, Bea Ortiz, has been crowned as the top scorer of the women’s competition at Barcelona 2018 with 25 goals on her account in just seven games. Today she added only one goal to her tally, but her lead was too large for any of her followers to be able to catch up. Ortiz takes the crown as the top goal scorer of the tournament from Rita Keszthelyi. She is the first Spanish player
The women’s Spanish team recovered from the blow received in the semifinals against Greece with a victory over Hungary this afternoon at the Picornell Pool to finish third and win the bronze medal at Barcelona 2018. The final score was (12-6) in favor of the Spanish side in a match that exhibited superior water polo than what they demonstrated in their matchup during the group stage, in which